Gruppo Analisi e Teoria Musicale

The GATM is an Association that aims to promote and diffuses new analytical and theoretical knowledges in the field of music in Italy. The Association was created in 1989 by five associations of musicologists and in 2002 it became an association of individual scholars. On the site of the GATM you can find all the necessary information about the activities of the Association, together with information on publications and how to sign up.

Any one interested may become a member of the Association subscribing to the Rivista di Analisi e Teoria Musicale and participating personally in the organization of its activities.

The GATM publishes with the LIM (Italian Music Library) two annual issues of the Rivista di Analisi e Teoria Musicale (RATM) (Journal of Music Theory and Analysis) directed by Antonio Grande, the series Manuali d’analisi e teoria musicale (Manual for analysis and musical theory) for universities and conservatories and, in collaboration with the Società Italiana di Musicologia (Italian Society of Musicology), the Repertori Musicali. Storia, Analisi, Interpretazione series (Musical repertoires. History, Analysis, Interpretation). It also publishes the journal Analitica. Online magazine of Music Studies, directed by Roberto Doati and available at php/analytical. He also works regularly with the most important European music analysis companies in the management of EuroMac European Conferences and annually organizes a Master in Analysis and Musical Theory (at the University of Calabria), seminars, study meetings and the International Conference of Analysis and Musical Theory.

The Chairman of the Association is Egidio Pozzi, joined in the Board of Directors by Antonello Mercurio (vice president) and by Fabio De Sanctis De Benedictis (secretary / treasurer). The members of the Scientific Committee are: Mario Baroni, Rossana Dalmonte, Fabio De Sanctis De Benedictis, Catello Gallotti, Antonello Mercurio, Marina Mezzina, Egidio Pozzi, Massimo Privitera, Marco Stassi.


Egidio Pozzi

Executive Board:
Egidio Pozzi, Antonello Mercurio  (vice-president), Fabio De Sanctis De Benedictis (secretary-treasurer).

Scientific Committee:
Mario BaroniRossana Dalmonte, Fabio De Sanctis De Benedictis, Catello Gallotti, Antonello Mercurio, Marina MezzinaEgidio PozziMassimo Privitera, Marco Stassi.

Board of Auditors:
Anna Rita Addessi, Anna Maria Bordin, Johannella Tafuri

To be defined

Last meeting