17th International Conference on Music Theory and Analysis

26-29 November 2020, on platform online [to be defined]


Call for Papers

The Italian Gruppo Analisi e Teoria Musicale (GATM), in cooperation with the Sagra Malatestiana and the Municipality of Rimini, is pleased to announce that the 17th International Conference on Music Theory and Analysis will be held on 26-29 November 2020. Due to the health emergency caused by Covid 19, this year the conference will take place entirely online.

Scholars are invited to submit a proposal on any topic related to music theory and analysis, with no distinction of genre, historical period, and geographical area.


Deadline and Formats on the Proposals

We invite scholars to submit a proposal (in Italian or English) no later than October 1, 2020, to this email address:  segreteria@gatm.it
The following formats will be considered:
- Individual or co-authored papers (20’ plus 10’ for discussion)
- Pre-arranged sessions (from two to four papers, each of 20’ plus 10’ for discussion).


Guidelines for submissions

Each submission should consist of two distinct files:


File 1 (in .pdf) named LASTNAME_PROPOSAL_RIMINI2020 (please, use the same designation in the email subject line). This file should include:

  • Title of the proposal;
  • A text of no more than 500 words, with five key-words and a maximum of eight bibliographical references. Examples, figures, and tables (no more than two pages in all) may be optionally attached.


File 2 (in .pdf) named LASTNAME_INFO_RIMINI2020. This file should include:

  • Full name of the author(s);
  • Institutional affiliation (if any);
  • Title of the proposal;
  • E-mail address;
  • Biographical note (max 150 words)


Proposals for a pre-arranged session should be submitted by one proponent, who will attach as many distinct files (as above) as the authors are. Additionally, the proponent should attach a file containing the title of the session and a preliminary summary of no more than 250 words. Please, name this last file LASTNAME [i.e., of the proponent]_SUMMARY_RIMINI2020.

Proposals must not include any reference to the author(s). It is also recommended to clearly state the topic, the methodological approach, and the main findings of the research.


Peer-review and Notification of the Outcome

Proposals will be double-blind peer reviewed. Each proposal included in a pre-arranged session will be evaluated separately and the integrity of the session will be preserved exclusively if at least two proposals will be accepted. Were this not the case, the Program Committee may include only the accepted ones as individual papers.

The outcomes will be communicated by October 20, 2020.

By November 5, 2020, the accepted proponents should send an abstract (in .doc format) on no more than 300 words and with no examples, tables, and figures, to be published in the Conference booklet.

After the Conference, the most interesting papers will be brought to the editorial board’s notice of the Rivista di Analisi e Teoria Musicale and Analitica. Rivista Online di Studi Musicali.


Conference Fees

The conference fee can be paid by bank transfer to GRUPPO ANALISI E TEORIA MUSICALE, IBAN code: IT43O0760102400000023163405, or using the following PayPal address: https://paypal.me/gatm3?locale.x=it_IT In both cases it is recommended to specify your personal details and the reason for payment.



Non-member speaker

€ 60,00

Student non-member speaker

€ 40,00

GATM-member speaker

€ 30,00

GATM-student member speaker

€ 20,00





Non-member attendant

€ 40,00

Non-member attendant - student

€ 30,00

GATM-member attendant



Institutional Subscription (max 20 students and teachers)

€ 300,00 (*)

(*) In the case of institutional subscription over 20 units, € 10.00 will be required for each additional entry.



For any further inquiries, please send an email to segreteria@gatm.it.


Organizing and Program Committee

Domenico Colaci

Fabio De Sanctis De Benedictis

Catello Gallotti

Alessandro Maffei

Enrico Meyer

Marina Mezzina

Egidio Pozzi

Giuseppe Sellari


Scientific Committee

Anna Rita Addessi

Loris Azzaroni

Mario Baroni

Anna Maria Bordin

Edmond Buharaja

Kevin Clifton

Rossana Dalmonte

Marco Della Sciucca

Roberto Doati

William Drabkin

Franco Fabbri

Antonio Grande

Nathalie Hérold

Vasilis Kallis

Ildar Khannanov

John Koslovski

Kerri Kotta

Andrea Malvano

Marco Mangani

José Oliveira Martins

Nicolas Meeùs

Antonello Mercurio

Marcello Piras


Massimo Privitera

Giorgio Ruberti

Simonetta Sargenti

Marco Stassi

Gaetano Stella

Lauri Suurpää

Johanella Tafuri

Giovanni Vacca

Konstantin Zenkin 

Stefano Zenni


« All news